Limited Certification for
Commercial Landscape Maintenance
The Limited Commercial Maintenance certification is available only for landscape maintenance contractors applying pesticides to their customer’s property.
This license allows the licensed applicator to apply herbicides, fungicides and insecticides. Products are limited to "Caution" labels only.
Applications are limited to ornamental plant beds and shrubs. Turf areas are off limits (not allowed to be treated).
Application equipment is limited to backpack sprayers having no more than a 5-gallon capacity and handheld 3-gallon compressed air “pump-up” sprayers. Powered equipment is prohibited.
Each individual applicator must be licensed.
This certification requires a passing grade (75%) on the exam. This certification must be renewed annually either by testing or with 4 CEU's.
To register for a class in Pinellas County.
|Cost of test:||Cost of license:||Cost of renewal:|
The exam study manuals are:
- "Applying Pesticides Correctly" (SM-1) $20.00
also called the "Core" manual
- "Ornamental and Turfgrass Pest Management" (SM 007) $20.00
You will also need:
- The Structural Pest Control Act, Chapter 482, Florida Statutes
- Chapter 5E-14, Florida Administrative Code
- Best Management Practices for Protection of Water Resources in Florida
These exam study manuals are available from the IFAS Bookstore in Gainesville, either by ordering online or by calling 1-800-226-1764. If you order with a credit card, you should receive the books within 4-5 days. The links above go directly to the manuals themselves.
An application for recertification under this section must be made annually and be accompanied by a recertification fee set by rule of the department, in an amount of not more than $75 or less than $25. The application must also be accompanied by proof of having completed 4 classroom hours of acceptable continuing education and the same proof of having a certificate of insurance as is required for issuance of this certification.
After a grace period not exceeding 30 calendar days following the annual date that recertification is due, a late renewal charge of $50 shall be assessed and must be paid in addition to the renewal fee.
Unless timely recertified, a certificate automatically expires 180 calendar days after the anniversary recertification date. Subsequent to such expiration, a certificate may be issued only upon successful reexamination and upon payment of the examination fees due.
|CEUs needed for license renewal:||Renewal period:|
Note: 1 CEU (Continuing Education Unit) equals 50 minutes of classroom time. This is a State of Florida certification issued by the Bureau of Licensing and Enforcement, a division of Agricultural Environmental Services. If you need more information, or have a problem call the Bureau by phone at 850-617-7997 or by fax at 850-617-7892 Monday through Friday, 8 AM to 5 PM.